Audio Systems Find answers to all of your stereo, speaker and other audio technology questions here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

stock vs aftermarket head unit

Search this Thread

Old 12-25-2015, 05:12 PM
wils5150
Tourer
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default stock vs aftermarket head unit

Is there a big difference between the 2? what will a after market give me thats better than stock? Right now I have the stock HU, Soundstream pn2,350 running Kappa 62.11 speakers on a 13 road glide. My set up sounds good although I am not good at setting gains and such. Just trying to figure out if I should get a aftermarket HU and what it will do for me,

Old 12-25-2015, 05:31 PM
Gannicus
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 412 Likes on 379 Posts

Huge difference. Firstly it will give you a stronger signal to your amp which will enable you to set your gains a little lower. low gains are a good thing. Secondly the aftermarket HU has tons of features that the stock unit doesn't have including BT and HD radio.

Old 12-26-2015, 04:40 AM
just plain john
Elite HDF Member
Received 98 Likes on 79 Posts