Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

True-Track: What the hell?

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2008, 11:57 AM
Gary7
Road Warrior
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default True-Track: What the hell?

I just visited the True-Track web site. Good Lord, they make the rubber mount Big Twins sound like death on two wheels. I can't believe these bikes are as unstable as that web site portrays them to be or else we'd constantly be reading about crash after crash, Harley would be in Chapter 11, and every rubber mount Big Twin ever made would have been recalled.

Bottom line: What's the story on this True-Track? Do you need one on a Dyna to have a safe bike, or what?

Old 12-20-2008, 12:26 PM
yso191
Club Member
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Let me say up front that I am no mechanic or engineer. However my conclusion is that the key here is to make sure the rubber mounts are in good shape. This is what the Harley design relies on. The other aspect to this is how one rides. How Harley gets away with not being sued is that their current design is safe and reliable if one is riding somewhere around the speed limit for corners and such.

So with accidents that have been caused by this design, they can say: "Well, clearly we did not anticipate that someone would drive our bikes illegally."

So if you inspect your engine mounts regularly, and ride conservatively, I don't think you need True-Track. I do both, but I intend to buy it even though it is toward the end of my to-buy list.

Steve

Old 12-20-2008, 12:32 PM
Gary7
Road Warrior

So basically, the True-Track is really only necessary if you ride the bike aggressively, pushing the limits in turns, etc.?

Old 12-20-2008, 12:41 PM
cornishman
Road Master