2018+ Softail Models Breakout

Advice in making an exhaust on fatboy 114

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2020, 04:43 AM
Fatboy2019
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice in making an exhaust on fatboy 114

Hi guys, im new to the harley world and i need an advice before i pay the person for the job to be done.

i have a fatboy 114 2019 model and im thinking of making an exhaust ( shortshots vince and hines), the powervision by dynojet and also the mechanic told me that i need to change the air filter

I told him that i like the factory air filter and i wish to keep the same one and i thought that i can do the exhaust and powervision and leaving the airfilter the same but he told me that i needed another filter a high flow one which is going to cost me 170 euro and also a back plate to fit in for 60 euro and then i can keep the front cover only.

my question is, is this true or i can leave the factory one or is there any other less priced filter.

Old 09-17-2020, 05:26 AM
FranBunnyFFXII
Grand HDF Member
Received 2,897 Likes on 1,567 Posts

Originally Posted by Fatboy2019
Hi guys, im new to the harley world and i need an advice before i pay the person for the job to be done.

i have a fatboy 114 2019 model and im thinking of making an exhaust ( shortshots vince and hines), the powervision by dynojet and also the mechanic told me that i need to change the air filter

I told him that i like the factory air filter and i wish to keep the same one and i thought that i can do the exhaust and powervision and leaving the airfilter the same but he told me that i needed another filter a high flow one which is going to cost me 170 euro and also a back plate to fit in for 60 euro and then i can keep the front cover only.

my question is, is this true or i can leave the factory one or is there any other less priced filter.
You don't necessarily have to change the stock one. Nor do you have to abandon the stock filter design either.