2018+ Softail Models Breakout

Fatbob Saddlebags - Aluminum Billet Machined

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2019 | 04:11 PM
RingMaster
|
4th Gear
Default Fatbob Saddlebags - Aluminum Billet Machined

I just stumbled upon this forum this afternoon after getting back from riding, great collection of folks here to learn from. I've been looking for saddlebags for my 2018 Fatboy since I bought it and haven't seen anything that I like.

I'm a machinist by trade and build primarily products for the Aerospace and Military, however, I've got my self caught in building stuff for my own toys more than once over the years. I have finally given up at this point finding anything that I want to mount on my bike. I want something that I can carry my basics, such as handgun, ammo and overnight gear, not a crapload of stuff, but enough to get by for 24-48 hours on the trail. Problem is, I don't want to deter from the lines of the bike with the standard bagger style saddlebags or unsecured leather bags, besides everything that I have seen is not aesthetically pleasing to the lines of the bike.

I've considered building a set of bags that would be machined from a solid billet of 6061-T6 aluminum. They would be about 7 1/2 inches in height, 12" in length and about 4" in depth. About 250 cubic inches of space each, but would have a gas piston inside that would allow the saddlebag to hinge in the middle of the 4" depth, basically like a briefcase, allowing the two halves to fold out. This way you can have easy access to a handgun holstered mounted inside as well as having a custom netting inside holding everything in, without falling out. I am looking at adding a locking system as well of course, with would be really nice to walk away from the bike without fear of someone stealing your gear.