Sponsored by:

Premium Fuel vs Non-Ethanol Fuel

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2024, 07:19 AM
VortecCPI
Road Captain
Received 295 Likes on 202 Posts
Default Premium Fuel vs Non-Ethanol Fuel

Does anybody know how these two fuel types stack up in terms of heat, power, fuel economy, engine wear, oil breakdown, etc. all other things being equal?

@Steve Cole have you ever done any work in this regard?

Old 08-04-2024, 07:44 AM
cycle7447
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 1,937 Likes on 1,177 Posts

Originally Posted by VortecCPI
Does anybody know how these two fuel types stack up in terms of heat, power, fuel economy, engine wear, oil breakdown, etc. all other things being equal?

@Steve Cole have you ever done any work in this regard?
I am no expert in this field. I do know this. In Michigan, my premium is about $4.50 per gallon. When I fill my tank (6 gal), it says I can average 245 or so miles (ride a trike).

Very few stations in my area have non-ethanol (usually marine) and that price is about $5.99 per gallon - so, for me, this is not cost effective.

When I go further up the line - say towards the UP on like in Wisconsin (just there for Harley Homecoming), non-ethanol gas was around $4.37 per gallon. When I filled the tank, it says I can average 255 or so miles. So, I am getting about 3 miles more per gallon. Plus, that gas is less expensive there.

Can't comment on the power, I did see any difference - but, I have heard it is much better.

The following users liked this post:
VortecCPI (08-04-2024)
Old 08-04-2024, 07:45 AM
VortecCPI
Road Captain
Received 295 Likes on 202 Posts

Originally Posted by cycle7447
I am no expert in this field. I do know this. In Michigan, my premium is about $4.50 per gallon. When I fill my tank (6 gal), it says I can average 245 or so miles (ride a trike).

Very few stations in my area have non-ethanol (usually marine) and that price is about $5.99 per gallon - so, for me, this is not cost effective.