Sponsored by:

V&H dual slash cut questions, 2015 SG

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2019, 11:39 AM
03nighttrain
Advanced
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default V&H dual slash cut questions, 2015 SG

I searched the threads and came up with getting a tuner after installing the slip ons. I also read an article from J&P cycles that I don't need the parts but the bike will run a lot better. Now I don't know what to do.
1) do I need to purchase a tuner? and if so, looking for recommendations?
2) Will I need to get a stage 1 air intake and again looking for recommendations if needed?
If the tuner and/or stage 1 is needed, price is going to be a big deal, as I don't have a ton of money.
Ty, Dave

Last edited by 03nighttrain; 01-29-2019 at 11:41 AM.
Old 01-29-2019, 12:17 PM
rusty289
Tourer
Received 32 Likes on 26 Posts

I'm no expert, and there are a few different opinions on this one but here's what I do know.

Typically if you are just doing slip ons then you are not changing the amount of air coming into the bike, you're simply letting it out easier and making a way cooler noise doing it! That being said, if you're not bringing in more air you should not need a tuner. The bike will still deliver fuel with the stock setup as it always has, air flow hasn't increased so all is and should be good. The guys that tell you that you need a tuner are usually the guys selling the tuners.

The rest of this equation goes like this, I have read that the rushmore bikes (14 SG and 15RG I ride a 15 RGS) have a high flow breather and filter element from the factory, I am sure the aftermarket ones are better but the word is the factory air cleaner will provide lots of air so long as you don't make any radical changes. So if you are just doing slip ons you should not need a stage 1 intake or a tuner.