Sponsored by:

Front Brake Does Not Disengage the Cruise Cont

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2018 | 10:45 AM
JCBGlide
|
Tourer
Default Front Brake Does Not Disengage the Cruise Cont

014 SGS ..... Just recently noticed this. I did search but didn't see the same issue - Cruise works, brake lights work w/ Brake Lever engagement, can disengage the Cruise by rolling back the throttle or using the Rear Brake but the Front Brake engagement doesn't disengage the Cruise. I looked inside the hand controls but can't tell that anything looks bad or a loose connection.

Figured I'd ask here before digging into Elect Diagnostics which I'm not good at or a Dealer visit which I don't want to do, but may have to.

All Comments / Suggestions appreciated.

Old 06-30-2018 | 10:51 AM
Campy Roadie
Seasoned HDF Member
Veteran: Marine Corp

Are you certain that the front brake lever (alone) engages the brake light?

Old 06-30-2018 | 11:09 AM
Yamaharley
Outstanding HDF Member

Max is right. Check to see if the brake light works with the front lever and if it doesnt i would check to see if the brake light switch needs a shim so the lever is making contact.

The following users liked this post:
Campy Roadie (06-30-2018)
Old 06-30-2018 | 03:15 PM
cowboydoc
Road Warrior
Veteran: Army