Sponsored by:

compensator noise

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2016, 06:52 PM
target64
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 45 Likes on 41 Posts
Default compensator noise

just picked up my new 2014 street glide with 5714 miles, drove to Connecticut to get it and trailer it back home. wrote a check and payed it off and the dealer did not have the title yet which they told me after it was payed for. took 5 days to get clear title. so i was looking at the new ride checking things out and was letting it run. i kept hearing this shuttering sound in the primary and called them right away. they told me it was transmission noise and was normal on the 15's. which i knew was bullshit, compared it to several other bikes no noise present in them. so I called up customer service to see what they would do and kind of got the run around. guy asking me if I was a harley tech and could diagnosis noise concerns. well I told him I'am not a harley tech but a master GM tech with over 35 years experience so I know there is a concern and it sounds like the compensator is bad. and how are they going to resolve this noise concern. he kept telling me its the new cut gears that causes the noise. well I told him when you engage the clutch the transmission stops turning after 15 seconds or so. and the noise is still there so how can it be the trans causing the noise. well then the phone went dead for about a minute and I said are you still here and he responded to take it back to the dealer in conn. so i called tech assist back tonight and got a different assistance and this guy was more help full and said most of the time you have to go back to the selling dealer. but with that being over 12 hrs away and most likely two trips total. to take it to local dealer and have them listen to it and call us with this service number. well I called one dealer and got the run around about and was told to take it back were i bough it and they could not touch it for three weeks . called another dealer and they