Harley Davidson Forums
Harley Davidson Forums - Harley Davidson Classifieds - HDForums.com Photo Galleries - Create an Account - Harley Davidson News

Go Back   Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Motorcycles > Touring Models

Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by: Fuel Moto USA


Welcome to HDForums.com!
Welcome to HDForums.com.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, join HDForums.com community today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 09-16-2009, 10:18 PM
Road Glide's Avatar
Road Glide Road Glide is offline
Hang Around
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toms River New Jersey
Posts: 26
Default Watcha' Think SCAM?

Watcha' Think SCAM?

My buddy said the asking price he heard was $4800

To see all the pictures click here: http://tinypic.com/a/19sig/4 2007 HARLEY DAVIDSON FAT BOY SOFTTAIL, Mileage 4,731 miles, VIN 1HD1BX5157Y048810, Engine 96 CI, Engine size (cc):1573, Transmission 6 SPEED, Drivetrain BELT DRIVE, Fuel Type Gasoline, Exterior Color Silver, Vehicle title: Clear and free. My brother is in the hospital where he had some medical investigations 2 weeks ago. Last week we found out he has cancer. I'm in the process of moving my brother to Eastern Regional Medical Center in PA where they gave us some hope. I want to sell the bike and shipp ASAP it because I want to be able to concentrate on my brother's problem.For making this a lot more easier and faster I would like to use Yahoo Finance to complete this transaction.This service allows us to complete the transaction quick and safe for both of us. It acts like a third party between seller and buyer, to insure that the buyer receives the item and the seller receives the payment. If you want to buy the bike, get back to me and I'll tell you how it works.

PS: I can ship you the bike for $450, it will be delivered in 4 days; you'll pay the shipping fees when you'll receive it .
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on HD Forums!

Last edited by Road Glide; 09-16-2009 at 10:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-16-2009, 10:22 PM
Towboater07's Avatar
Towboater07 Towboater07 is offline
Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Albany, LA.
Posts: 214
Default

Smells funny to me.
__________________
07 Ultra Classic
V&N Fuel Pak
V&H True Duels
V&H Oval Slip-ons
Arlen Ness Big Sucker Stage 1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-16-2009, 10:31 PM
kccustom's Avatar
kccustom kccustom is online now
Senior Rider
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Kansas City, KS
Posts: 411
Default

Ya, its a common scam, they sell for less the 5K so if they get busted its only a misdemeanor.

Ask them if you can come pick it up with cash and see what they say.
__________________
http://hdforums.com/forum/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=92611&dateline=124400  2583
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-16-2009, 10:56 PM
rogerfromco's Avatar
rogerfromco rogerfromco is offline
Road Captain
2009 HD FLTR
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Rocky Mtns
Posts: 513
Default

E-mail him and tell him you live a couple of hours away and want to look at it and are willing to pay cash if it's as advertised and he has title in hand. That'll give you the answer to your question.
__________________

'09 Vivid Black FLTR - Black Ceramic Bub7 TDs, RSD Air Cleaner, SERT (75 Hp / 90 lb-ft), quick detach Tour Pak, 6.5" Alpine's with Wet Sounds amp
'03 VRSCA (wife's bike) - V-Moded pipes, SE High Flow Air Cleaner, PC-III, Custom paint by Gunpoint Graphics
'03 FXSTDSE - gone, baby, gone
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-16-2009, 10:59 PM
Rattlecan Ray Rattlecan Ray is offline
Hang Around
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 35
Default

This is a fairly common scam.
Don't send them any $$!
__________________
'08 FLHRC
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-16-2009, 11:02 PM
hfd13's Avatar
hfd13 hfd13 is offline
Hang Around
2006 Harley FLHX
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ma
Posts: 50
Default

Scam!!! stay away. tried to buy my son a truck through craigs list. i was suprized to find several scams there. Buyer Beware!!!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-16-2009, 11:44 PM
Texas Fat Boy's Avatar
Texas Fat Boy Texas Fat Boy is offline
Elite HDF Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Nacogdoches, Texas
Posts: 4,154
Default

Scam, do what rogerfromco said to do and then get back to us.
__________________
http<a href=http://i157.photobucket.com/albums/t41/lesterrogers/09%20Street%20Glide%20November/Novsig.jpg target=_blank>http://i157.photobucket.com/albums/t...ber/Novsig.jpg</a>
'09 Street Glide - Dark Blue Pearl
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-17-2009, 12:15 AM
88racing 88racing is offline
Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tea, SD
Posts: 285
Default

I just seen an add like that in our local paper last week. It only ran for 2 days.
The add I saw was shorter but key word was "crisis"
Contact info was newspaper email and voice mail.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-17-2009, 12:56 AM
kmvallee kmvallee is offline
Prospect
2005 Harley-Davidson Road Glide
My Garage
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 157
Thumbs down

If it sounds to good to be true it's to good to be true......................................
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-17-2009, 06:02 AM
1badbagger's Avatar
1badbagger 1badbagger is offline
Senior Rider
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Smithfield, NC
Posts: 426
Default

I shake my head every time I see these ads. I'm shaking my head at the stupid people that actually fall for it.......no wait.....they may be more greedy than stupid....I like to think we Americans aren't all that stupid,,,,,wait,,,,,yes we are.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
1hd1bx5157y048810, 2007, boy, buy, davidson, fat, fatboy, finance, harley, harleydavidson, motorcycle, scam, scams, vin, yahoo


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
New Sponsors
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 AM.

© Internet Brands, Inc.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0